Dr. Rumi Nakamura
The Cluster mission: Four-point observation in space

Institut für Weltraumforschung, Österreichische Akademie der Wissenschaften

The Cluster mission, which consists of four identical spacecraft, is a revolutionary magnetospheric space mission launched in summer 2000. The four-point relatively closely spaced measurements with identical instruments enabled for the first time to investigate the 3D plasma dynamics in key regions of the Earth's magnetosphere and upstream solar wind. By changing its inter-spacecraft distance every year, Cluster unveiled different plasma processes at different scales. This exciting mission is introduced in this lecture covering description of the planning phase and its ongoing operation, as well as highlighting the most forefront science results .

  Cluster Mission

PDF-Datei der Präsentation (4,51 MB)

<< zurück zur Übersicht